On breaking down silos, and ‘untouchables’: the Balkan Criminology network

Dr Anna-Maria Getoš Kalac, founder and co-chair of Balkan Criminology, and associate professor at the University of Zagreb’s Faculty of Law, talks about strengthening networks and breaking down silos between academics, civil society, the media and criminal justice practitioners in the Western Balkans, and about the role of academia in fighting corruption.

Can you tell us about the Balkan Criminology platform: why is it needed and what does it do?
When I finished my PhD at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law (in Freiburg, Germany), I looked for something similar in the Balkans. But most of the major criminology institutes in the former Yugoslavia were no longer active. So I tried to link up with like-minded peers in South Eastern Europe – people in my field to share ideas and work with. I also figured that since organized crime is transnational, to study it we needed a transnational response in the research community. Around ten years ago, I began searching for at least one meaningful contact in each Balkan country. And that was how Balkan Criminology started, as a network of young researchers. We did projects together, like mapping organized crime in the region, looking at victimology and investigating the situation in prisons. We met whenever possible for conferences, workshops and seminars. I think it helped that we had a different mindset from the older generation: we were not so interested in the region’s recent history or in issues of ethnicity. We came together as researchers, academics, public prosecutors and people from civil society who wanted to learn from one another.

How do you explain the fact, or at least the perception, that there is a high incidence of organized crime in the Western Balkans but almost no research about it emanating from the region?